top of page
OIP (2)_edited.png
Search

Teige Halligan is Hungry for Success



Teige Halligan is a senior at O'Dea, he plays varsity baseball as a PO (pitcher only) and has been with the team all four years of his high school career. He started at a young age and since then has been improving "I have been playing since I was 9, I had some great influence in little league from my friends dad, Brian Bignold, he never shies away from the truth and that's what I needed when i was super young because I sucked", says Halligan. Halligan has been trying his hardest to get better at baseball any way he can, whether it be his technique, mindset, or strength he is always trying to improve. Halligan says "During the summer I played for my local select team, Island Baseball Company, I wasn't great and knew I needed to improve in all aspects of the game, but primarily pitching. I worked all off-season starting in late July-mid February getting in the weight room, and working with my pitching coach Geoff Brown. But in January, that's where I really began to grow after joining Tread Athletics, a remote pitching program that helped me with tracking my nutrition, strength and mobility issues, throwing program, and mentality of baseball. I did one month of their training and after only topping out at 81mph all year, in early February I topped out at 84mph at a PBR showcase in Centralia. Leaving that showcase I knew I put my name out there. Then I got a text from the Centralia CC pitching coach, Dan Bower, asking if I had been offered yet. I said no, and after a brief discussion he invited me out to practice with the team later that week. Once I practiced with them they offered me and I took it. From where I started I had a lot of doubt, I didn't think I was good enough at all to get any offers, but once I put my head down and grinded for those 8 months, I reached my goal, and I've been having fun competing for the O'Dea team." While Halligan is always trying to improve himself he also tries helping other players. Halligan is a captain on the team but instead of being loud and motivating he prefers the one on one talks instead of talking to the whole group. Halligan explains, "I am more of a 1-on-1 guy, I'm not super vocal, but when I feel something needs to be said to a player I'll pull him aside quietly and talk to him about it". This year has been an explosion of progress for Halligan, through the summer program and the techniques learned through the high school team he has significantly grown as a player. With his newfound techniques he is still trying to connect the new ones with the past ones. Halligan explains, "Learning new techniques and ways to play the game simply came with growing up playing baseball, you watch older guys and try to mimic them, and doing your best to compete at your full potential". With all this said Halligan is looking to grow even more this season and not just by himself, he wants to grow the teams chemistry so that they can push each other and get stronger with each other. Overall Teige Halligan is a fantastic baseball player and is always striving to get better on and off the field.

6 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
V.S. (6).png
bottom of page