top of page
OIP (2)_edited.png
Search

Leaving Everything on the Mat By Keaton James



Leaving Everything on the Mat


(seen bottom left of photo)


SEATTLE-Connor Richardson has never been an athlete specific to only one sport, he has played competitive lacrosse and soccer switching back and forth throughout elementary and middle school. He even did a foray into club sports pursuing lacrosse during his middle school years, waiting for the sport to speak to him, draw him in. Like many athletes his age, he was unsure of where to make his mark and what would be his legacy.


When he moved up to O’Dea he knew he wasn’t going to make the cut and be a multiple sport athlete.


“It was discouraging to see people that were dedicated to a single sport and focused all of their time and energy towards that sport.”

Richardson needed to make a choice on what sport he wanted to participate in and truly focus his efforts.


"I started off my sport search freshmen year when I joined freshman football. I definitely didn’t expect it to be as grueling as it was, but it built my character, that’s for sure. I also enjoyed the camaraderie and the way it connected me to my freshman class."


Although he loved the connections made, Richardson was not instantly drawn to the football scene, and he wasn't sold on the sport.


"I had to ask myself, what path do I want to take, what will drive me and serve as a legacy when I leave O'Dea."


The answer came on the wrestling mat. Richardson found his drive and energy, unlike previous sports.


"I didn't mind the early morning practices, I lived for them."


It was a switch of a mindset for Richardson.


"When I first started wrestling, I wasn't sure if I would be able to succeed and doubted myself, but Coach Anderson encouraged me to keep going."


Richardson took this positive reinforcement to heart and finished up his first two years being named the freshman and sophomore MVP.


It was onward and upward from there. In sophomore and junior years he made it to the Metro finals.


"I felt like I was starting to hit my stride on the mat. this was an exciting time, but I fell short of achieving my goals. I guess I left time for improvement my senior year, hoping to grow both as a person and a wrestler."


Senior year lived up to all of Richardson's expectations. Not only was he deemed one of O'Dea's wrestling team captains, but he won the "Return of the Seahawk" wrestling tournament in December 2021.


"It was great to see all of my hard work come to fruition. I now look back over my time at O'Dea and feel great success in wrestling. While there is a lot more to the season than just one tournament, this was the cumulation of four years of hard work."


With many tournaments to go, he is surely one to keep an eye on.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
V.S. (6).png
bottom of page