top of page
OIP (2)_edited.png
Search

Through Struggle, Haralson Always Finds Ways to Strive

Updated: Jan 19, 2022



SEATTLE- John Haralson is a senior wrestler for the O'Dea Fighting Irish wrestling team. Haralson is one of O'Dea's most talented wrestlers who always seems to find a way to win and to score points for the team. This success didn't pop up out of nowhere. Haralson put in the time and effort to be great. "My freshman and sophomore year, I felt I was making steady progress, especially in wrestling," said Haralson. But like many student-athletes throughout the world, the new coronavirus was eating the leagues alive. Many schools were closed which also meant that there would be no athletic events. "When COVID hit I didn't really know what to do," said Haralson, "All I knew was that I wanted to stay in shape in order to be able to come back and wrestle at a competitive level and win." And that’s what Haralson did. Having a great work ethic proved to be important because Haralson was able to get into the best shape of his life even when he was out of his sport. He was able to feel confident in his ability to wrestle at a competitive level when he came back to wrestle his junior year. "Junior year I felt the most confident in my athleticism, and I felt I was the best athlete I have been at that moment." Haralson was in the best shape he had ever been in and his confidence was through the roof. Even though sports were back, there were still struggles along the way. COVID was still a thing and the teams had to deal with it. Haralson said, "Some challenges along the way have been COVID shutting everything down, and having matches cancelled." Having matches cancelled along the way caused a lot of frustration to Haralson and all the other student-athletes. Haralson wanted to sharpen his skills and because of COVID being the cause of so many matches being cancelled, he felt as if he was losing skill. "I also remember wanting to quit wrestling because I felt as if I wasn't making any progress," said Haralson. COVID was hitting everyone very hard. Everyone was struggling, but Haralson fought through the struggle and made it to the other side of the tunnel. Senior season is especially important to all senior student athletes. It's the last year you will ever play any high school sports. Haralson has taken full advantage of his senior year and has branched out into a different sport. Just adding to an amazing high school career. "Senior year has been a true blessing so far, as I tried cross country for the first time, and I actually became a varsity runner." It seems that it doesn't matter what Haralson does, he will do his best to be the best he can be at that sport or hobby. He uses every opportunity he gets to his advantage. Going from joining the cross-country team for the first time ever to a varsity runner is a special thing to see. "In wrestling, I am very happy because I have been doing well in my matches, and I am finally seeing my years of work paying off." Haralson has been putting in so much effort, and it's amazing to see that it is paying off. Haralson has been racking up win after win every week at every dual match or tournament. Haralson's senior year is looking like it will be one to remember. Haralson has helped, alongside his brothers, to make the O'Dea name known to everyone in the wrestling world.

57 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
V.S. (6).png
bottom of page