top of page
OIP (2)_edited.png
Search

Brendan Murphy and His Journey On The Court And On The Field By Andrew Beyer

Updated: Jan 19, 2022

SEATTLE- Brendan Murphy is a junior and current dual-sport athlete at O’Dea High School which isn’t too common. He performs very well on the football field in the fall, then immediately transitions to the hardwood right when the season is over. All of this comes from his dedication and hard work through the two sports, becoming a varsity player in both sports by his junior year.


Ever since he was little, Murphy has put a ton of time of his life into his two sports, grinding and getting better at them consistently. Though it might be hard for some dual-sport athletes to decipher which sport they like better, Murphy has been pretty equal on his stance.


“I didn't start playing basketball until I was about 10 but I had played football from 8-13 before quitting, so up until 13 football was my main priority and then basketball took over for middle school and now for high school, I have switched back to football as my main sport once again. I love both sports still and still care to win in both sports equally,” Murphy said.


The effort and hard work Murphy puts in at practice shows up on the court and field by his intensity and how hard he plays. This season in the Hardwood Invite semifinal against Auburn, Murphy fouled out with four charges in one game. Though getting fouled out in basketball isn’t a good thing, head coach Jason Kerr somewhat praised him.


“He just runs through them like a linebacker in football,” Kerr said while speaking to the team at halftime.


This type of intensity can light up and spark the team late in games when Murphy comes off the bench. This type of mentality can’t be taught by anyone but himself which is widely respected by his peers and everyone else. This mentality Murphy gained on his own, through the skills he’s improved upon over the years, has been helped by others.


“My biggest mentor on the court has honestly been the coaching staff as a whole starting with Coach Zo freshman year, Coach Ant sophomore year and Coach Kerr and our whole coaching staff this past year or so. Off the court for me has always been my dad who I've been able to go to at any point for advice on anything, even if it’s not sports related,” Murphy noted.


Murphy may be on varsity in two sports as a junior, but it all hasn’t come easy for him. He never started or played on varsity as a freshman in either football or basketball. With that being said, Murphy has improved a lot since his freshman year.


“I'd say I've improved the most in knowing my role and knowing what my body can be used for on the court. For us to win a state championship we all need to know what our role is, and I believe I've been able to figure out what my role is on this team and basketball program as a whole. With that being said, there has been some struggles when trying to know my role. Your body type can affect that and my transformation because of lifting with Coach P and Coach Fitch for football has drastically changed my body and, with that, my role as a basketball player on this team.” Murphy said.


As Murphy rounds out his junior season on the hardwood, he will only continue to improve mentally and physically, going into his senior year in both sports.


“Up to this point I haven't had any memorable games or games that I've been really proud of. Potentially winning the state championship game would change that answer, and I believe we have the team to do it this year.”

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
V.S. (6).png
bottom of page